Me? A pod person?

No, not the kind that chased Kevin McCarthy in the 1956 classic Invasion of the Body Snatchers. Nor the kind that chased Donald Sutherland and Veronica Cartwright in the 1978 remake. I mean pod as in podcasting.

The Collins English Dictionary defines a podcast as an audio file similar to a radio broadcast, which can be downloaded and listened to on a computer, mp3 player, mobile phone, etc

Hell, I ought to be able to handle that. It seems like a natural fit for somebody who spent years getting paid to talk for a living. Somehow though it’s something that I’ve rarely given serious consideration to. Not sure exactly why I’ve always been reluctant to consider it, beyond reluctant really, more like a significant aversion to the idea.

I think it may just come down to the whole idea feeling kind of silly to me, at least where I’m concerned. Yeah, I know what some of you are thinking (and you know who you are) “You spent years talking to an invisible audience of questionable size, why would this be any different?” I don’t know, it just is. Among other things I’m a good bit older now than I was then, maybe more cynical or just more realistic about my place in the world than I used to be.

My ego, big as it may seem to those who’ve known me over the years, is actually kept in check better than you might think. The traffic counter on this blog helps with that (although to be honest it has already far exceeded my expectations, thanks to the kindness of you brave souls). My expectations for any sort of foray into podcasting are even lower, considering that less than a quarter of Americans have ever listened to a podcast and as of last year less than half of Americans even know what a podcast is. See why I included that dictionary definition earlier?

Plus there’s the simple matter of radio providing a context for most everything I said into a microphone. Whether it was information, advertising or hopefully entertaining banter, there was a purpose behind it, a reason for doing it. I’ve rarely seen that with any visions I may have had of how podcasting would relate to me personally.

Podcasting, or it’s video cousin the vlog (Video Blogging), you tend to have to invent the context. Never mind the part about having an audience or building an audience, the amateur podcaster has to create content, produce it and deliver it … without an obvious reason for it to exist in the first place.

And yet I find myself at least genuinely tempted by the idea for the first time.

— I do have an idea or two that might give me a little structure to the effort.
— I’m still more comfortable writing for broadcast than I am writing for reading.
— I even have some notion of how audio podcasting could easily compliment an idea or two I’ve had about some narrowly focused video blogging.

I really don’t see podcasting as something to replace this blog, I see it more as an extension or compliment to J3C. (Yes, I tend to think of the blog in third person)
I also don’t see it as anything as simple as reading the blog entries & posting them as audio files, although I suppose that could occasionally happen to some extent. There are ideas and topics I believe are best served by writing but it seems at least possible that there are some best served by other mediums.

If you’ve read the earliest entries here then you know how many fits and starts I had with blogging. Podcasting could very well turn out to be the same way, might turn out to never happen at all. But I’m at least in the process of giving it three cents worth of consideration.

Stay tuned.

Leave a comment

Filed under General, Personal

Leave a Reply

