Daily Archives: January 3, 2013

2012 Albums of the Year

Once again a musical year has come and gone and, much as I found myself saying this time a year ago, I’m not quite sure that the year in hard rock and metal was quite as good as the one before … but it wasn’t bad by any stretch either.

In fact, putting together this year’s list was so reminiscent of the process last year that the same explanation and disclaimer I used then works very well today.

The criteria was pretty simple really, released between Jan 1 and Dec 31 2012 and be a project that I got considerable enjoyment out of during the year.  It’s a lot like my college football Top 25, there’s no one absolute factor that puts one entry ahead of another, I’m not putting artistic merit ahead of fun or chart/sales success in front of my own enjoyment.  The thing I hate about doing year-end lists is the fear that I’m going to leave something out, so I’ll apologize in advance for any errors of omission.

The one change from last year’s list is that, in spite of my belief that the year might have been just a little weaker overall than 2011, the list has grown from 20 albums to 25.  There simply wasn’t enough to separate the final few for me to be comfortable with putting one clearly ahead of the other.  Once again, kind of reminds me of college football.

That all said, without further ado, here’s Jon’s Three Cents Top 25 Albums of 2012

25) Fozzy – Sin & Bones

24) Charm City Devils – Sins

23) Tremonti – All I Was

22) Lynyrd Skynyrd – Last Of A Dyin’ Breed

21) Adrenaline Mob – Omerta

21) Otherwise – True Love Never Dies

19) Ugly Kid Joe – Stairway To Hell

18) Rival Sons – Head Down

17) Aranda – Stop the World

16) Tank – War Nation

15) Trixter – New Audio Machine

14) Hoobastank – Fight or Flight

13) My Darkest Days – Sick & Twisted Affair

12) ZZ Top – La Futura

11) Joe Walsh – Analog Man

10) Hellyeah – Band of Brothers

9) Accept – Stalingrad

8) Stone Sour – House of Gold & Bones, Part 1

7) Papa Roach – The Connection

6) Nonpoint – Nonpoint

5) Hinder – Welcome To The Freakshow

4) Rush – Clockwork Angels

3) Three Days Grace – Transit of Venus

2) Slash f. Myles Kennedy & The Conspirators – Apocalyptic Love

1) Halestorm – The Strange Case of …

1 Comment

Filed under Music